30 Day Check-in

Hello and welcome to Getting To Know Midlothian!

It’s been less than 30 days since I chose this domain name as a place to drop Midlothian-related information and while so many of my initial fears of learning new dashboards and platforms have been soothed, there are still quite a few objectives I have fallen severely short on as well.

For example, one vision I have is to bring together multiple venues into one centralized locations for event information.  While some of the bigger online companies offer a plethora of products and services to the public to publish such information, each publisher is responsible for advertising their events…and no one elses.

So one place I stalled recently was dealing with the form and format of an event notification service so that with a little effort on my part, we, as a community, could have a location online with a comprehensive listing of Midlothian activities with links directly to the hosts of these events.

Another place I have been struggling with is dealing with being host to a document library.  The existing format I installed kinda-sorta works for now, but there are limitations that will eventually make this widget too cumbersome.

Still missing chunk starting data for a variety of entities both public and private which is a research and data entry task I haven’t had the chance to shift to yet.

All in all, the overall direction of the site seems to be achieving some measure of my hopes and objectives…which might be demonstrative of my programming skills and use of time, but is more importantly reflective of the hundreds of conversations I have had with people here in Midlothian, especially over this past year and a half…

THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO CONTINUES TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE IMPROVEMENT AND GROWTH OF MIDLOTHIAN IN THEIR OWN UNIQUE WAY!

In the meantime, while this will be the front page for the next week or two while I work through a few more logistics issue, new content will be added and the site is always searchable.


Recent Entries

[pt_view id=”778c440803″]


