Getting The Creative On Disclaimer; Please Pardon the Changes

Over the next few days, I plan on spending some time working on the structure of the site, which means it could be wrapped up in a template 5 times in the next hour and I also have some new posts I hope to get to.

This means that buttons may or may not work, links may not appear where you are used to seeing them and perhaps you can’t find content you thought was here.

As I am still all in with the realities of my real-life backyard and beyond, I hope these changes help more people turn away satisfied they turned to this site for information about the Village of Midlothian.  I remain grateful to all who have given both compliment and criticism throughout 2016 both online and offline and hope this next improvement reflects the enormous personal growth our community went through this year I have been lucky enough to sometimes be a direct part of, while sometimes watching from behind this computer screen and keyboard.

One does not need to physically be capable of demonstrating what the Best of the Best might look like in order to have good ideas on what it should look like and then talking about it off the field, which is what so many have allowed me to continue to do, primarily on the topic of “politics.”

There still remains far more to this community than just its political leanings and tilts and I am looking forward to continuing an effort of outreach to the many when it comes to all types of facets and features of the experiences of those who pass through Midlothian, let alone those who have roots well planted before the ink was ever dry.  I don’t mind writing about politics, but there are other facets I look forward to including next year in the mix.  It was fun taking an instrument to the streets of the downtown area.  The video is kinda weird, but when I remember that moment, it was the comfort of having a pretty good idea of what was going to come next and then seeing if my fingers would follow the chords or if the vocal chords would follow the notes I came up for myself to mess around with.

This post has that kind of writing attached to it.

Thank you for another inspiring year here in Midlothian!

**********************************************

Kindness and compassion lives here.
Sorrow and joy do to.
Some dollar signs are in the dumps, some are not.
But this much is true

We all must eat
We all must sleep
We all must breathe
We all must leap

Over a puddle
Under the ground
Through the woods
On a table is found

Grown from below
Raised from above
The strength of a meal
Shared with only love

So there is a fight
And maybe a tear
But all agree
Eat without fear

Of course
Of conviction
Being reason
For complete eviction

We all must eat
We all must sleep
We all must breathe
We all must leap

Poor choices of past
Fine manners with fate
How one behaves
In front of a plate

Harm not now
Try not forever
And moments of peace
Can be felt together

Without example
Care or concern
Seeing can be believing
Something always to learn

From or to
Forward and fro
Always ways possible
Which way to go

We all must eat
We all must sleep
We all must breathe
We all must leap

You’ll turn here
And then maybe there
And lo and behold
There’s another dare

Lyin’ in the road
Or on a sidewalk
Maybe silence
Maybe a talk

People stop here
For too many good reasons
To damper imaginative thoughts
In the coldest of seasons

What can be done
To subtract some fray
To calm nerves down
To help people want to stay

People begin to wonder
Why their dare over here
Seems to cloud the eyes
Until nothing is very clear

We all must eat
We all must sleep
We all must breathe
We all must leap

And we/they/I talk
And we/they/I write
And we/they/I publish
And we/they/I fight

That’s community business
Of a different vision
Longer term than a quick bite
Unknown term of division

Public displays of emotion
The macro and micro betray
Displays of clubs and hearts
In which nothing seems okay

And we/they/I talk
And we/they/I write
And we/they/I publish
And we/they/I fight

While always keeping in mind…

We all must eat
We all must sleep
We all must breathe
We all must leap

Even here in Midlothian, Illinois.

